“You’re just a goody-goody.” The words slapped me in the face like a cup of cold water on a frosty morning. There is nothing that a teen-aged boy would less want to be than a “goody-goody” even if he is one. I knew the words to be untrue, but to the people in my school it is how I was perceived. I didn’t drink or smoke, didn’t do drugs, didn’t do any of those things that a nice Baptist boy didn’t do. But I was a teen-aged boy.

I knew that I was far from good. As a matter of fact, as I look back on that encounter in a high school classroom, I wish that I could rewind and respond with something better than a defensive, “Uh, uh, uh, no, I’m not.” If I could hit the rewind button, I could share with that friend and classmate that it wasn’t so much that I was good, but that God in His goodness had set me free from many of the not-so-good things that typically plagued teen-aged boys.

I can’t go back and relive that encounter. And neither can you revisit some of your missed opportunities. What we can do is to acknowledge that if there is any good in us, that good comes from a relationship with a real, living, and good God who offers His goodness to any and all who will believe. Then we can keep our spirits tuned to the new opportunities to share that goodness available to us every day. And always remember that it is not that I am good, but that God is so good.

5For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; 6and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; 7and to godliness, mutual affection; and to mutual affection, love.”   —2 Peter 1:5-7

