I have a scar on my right hand. When I see that scar, I remember. The reminder, while scars are not always pleasant, takes me back to days in my youth ministry when I began learning that I couldn’t do things that I had done when I was part of the youth group and not the leader of it. You see, the scar is a memorial to a year at youth camp when I (as an old man of about 28 years) got out on the softball field with the teenagers. In my zeal to outrun the ball to first base, I tripped over the bag and flailed my way to the chain link fence and cut open my hand trying to stop the fall.

Truthfully, though the scar is a reminder to me of days spent working with a great group of teenagers, and introducing them to a life lived with and for Jesus.

This weekend, we in America celebrate Memorial Day. It is a time set aside to honor those who sacrificed their lives on battlefields in order to enjoy the freedoms that are part of our nation’s DNA. While we don’t want to park on thoughts of war and men giving their lives on battlefields, it is important to remember.

Memorials are set up for that reason: to remind those who see them of what has gone on before; to spur them on to thankfulness for the blessings in life; and possibly to encourage them to live the same kind of sacrificial lives for future generations.

Set up some memorials in your life today, and remember.

[Joshua] said to the Israelites, “In the future, when your children ask their fathers, ‘What is the meaning of these stones?’ you should tell your children, ‘Israel crossed the Jordan on dry ground.’”  —Joshua 4:21-22

