Jesus started His life, lived His life, and completed His life (on this earth) amidst miracles. Everything about Him is miraculous. As a matter of fact the miracles run rampant through the Christmas story. For instance, the birth of John the Baptist is filled with miracles—the miracle of his birth to a woman barren into her old age. The fact that he recognized the voice of the Savior’s mother even in the womb (see Luke 1:44). A few years ago I imagined what someone witnessing the world at the time of John’s and then Jesus’s birth:

It was a time for miracles. Miracles were all around me. I don’t know why. I can’t reason it out. I just know that I witnessed miracles, and I am glad to have been there to witness and can now report. It was a time for miracles.” (A Time for Miracles, p. 13)

Many people today would like to explain away that which is miraculous, but the Spirit of Peace that hovers over homes of those who celebrate Christ’s birth at this time of year gives witness to the miracle of Christ. The continued insistence of story and song writers to bear witness to the change that visits people at Christmastime gives us cause to believe. And we can say with Carlton C. Buck who wrote, “I believe in miracles, for I believe in God!”

  “And there are also many other things that Jesus did, which, if they were written one by one, I suppose that not even the world itself could contain the books that would be written.”  – John 21:25

