If you know me, you know that I am a big proponent of fostering and adoption. There are children who need stable, loving environments in which to grow and thrive.

Dr. Albert Reyes* writes:

There is a troubling statistic that I saw recently that really struck a chord. Did you know that there are more than 107,000 children in America’s foster care system at any given time?

These are children that have been abandoned, abused, or utterly neglected. Their very livelihood has been turned over to a stranger to administer through an overcrowded Child Protective Services (CPS) system.

My heart breaks when I think it could be my own child in that situation, the hurt and loneliness those children must be experiencing.

Yet, even in spite of the heartbreak, I still have hope. I think of Jesus when he said “the fields are white unto harvest.”  These children are the harvest that God has put before us to sow seeds of his love. We can be the solution to the lost and suffering among us—the least of these who have been cast off by society are the very ones that Christ came to save.

In Bond County Illinois (my home county), we live in a place where there is a significant (and often unmet) need for both foster and adoptive families to open their homes to forgotten and suffering children. Consider how you can be a part of meeting this need through participation or support of on-going ministries. Here are a few suggestions (some familiar, others may be new to you):

*Albert Reyes is the President and CEO of Buckner International. The above quote is from an email dated Thursday, November 10, 2016.

