Like many people, I like a cup of coffee. I usually start my day with a cup and then have a second with breakfast. Some days I might have more, but I usually find that two is all I drink. Even so, I like my coffee the way I like my coffee. When I was a little boy, I liked the smell and the thought of coffee, but I didn’t like drinking it. That was okay, because (as I was told) it would stunt my growth—and what little boy wants stunted growth?

We know that the claim that coffee will stunt your growth is just a ruse to keep children from drinking the stuff, but it does give us something to think about spiritually. Spiritually we are designed to grow. Once we have spiritual life, we want to grow. That means that we need to do the things that help us to mature. Just like we teach our children the things that will help them both grow physically and mature mentally and emotionally, Christians want to mature spiritually.

The way we do this is to eat good spiritual food, exercise spiritual muscle, and develop good spiritual relationships. To that end I would encourage every believer to spend time in God’s Word (the Bible), spend time with God’s Son in prayer, practice generous giving through Christ’s Bride the church, and develop healthy relationships for accountability with a fellow believer who is trustworthy. We want to grow, we are designed to grow, so let’s do all that we can to grow.

  “Brothers, do not be children in your thinking. Be infants in evil, but in your thinking be mature.I Corinthians 14:20)

