From time to time I like to watch certain types of racing. It may stem from my days on the Jr. High track team when I was a kid. I was always fascinated with the relay races (although I never was part of that race—the coach assigned me to hurdles). They practiced more than just the average runner who did the road work and wind sprints. To these daily exercises they practiced diligently at passing the baton at full speed. This was important because a dropped baton meant a lost race, a late or early pass meant disqualification. And so they practiced the hand-off with intensity.

I’ve also enjoyed some of the bicycle relays when they’ve been telecast in my viewing area. These cyclists ride with precision keeping in sync with one another almost to the position of the pedal. As the lead grows weary, he drops back to bring up the rear and be carried along in the wake of his team-mates. Everybody is doing their part to keep the machine of the team in motion.

We can take a lesson from the relay athletes in understanding the work of the church. Occasionally we spell one another, working in sync as a team. At other times we pass the baton smoothly and safely to the next one. Are we preparing to pass/receive the baton of service as time marches on?

 “The body is a unit, though it is made up of many parts; and though all its parts are many, they form one body. So it is with Christ.” (1 Corinthians 12:12)

