Me with My Dad (Thomas Potter)

Too many times, I let days go by without being thankful to my father for the heritage he gave me. It would be appropriate today to send a message of gratitude his way, and I hope that you can be inspired by my words.

 

Dear Dad, thanks. Perhaps it’s not really enough to say just that simple word, but there are very few others that can fully harness the necessary sentiment. So, thanks.

Thanks for loving my mother for the godly woman she is, and treating her right. I learned how to be a true, honest, and loving husband by watching you.

Thanks for the years of discipline and teaching that you took with me and my siblings. We learned what a father should be just by being in your home.

Thanks for living faith out loud and unashamedly at home and in the world. Through your life, words and lifestyle I found a firm foundation of faith in Jesus Christ. I learned how to be active and faithful in my church. I learned that my best example of father may not really be you, but our mutual heavenly Father. So you taught me to say:

Dear Father in Heaven, Thanks. Thanks for life, for love, for all you are.

Today, I am thankful for my fathers—both earthly and Heavenly. I count it a privilege to know both well and intimately.

“As a father has compassion on his children, so the Lord has compassion on those who fear Him.”  (Psalms 103:13)

