Today is the day we have set aside in our culture to honor the one person in our lives that might be the most indispensable person we have ever known. As babies this person is more important than any other because she shows us nurture and care like none other—at least that’s how God designed things.

Personally, although my father was my pastor for as long as I could remember until I moved away to college (and even a few years after that), it was Mom who provided that gentle persuasion that ultimately led me to saving knowledge of Jesus Christ.

Who among us can really be: caregiver, provider, manager, coach, teacher, guide and confidant all rolled into one. I would like to take this moment to thank my mom for being the godly example that she has always been for me. I’d like to thank my childrens’ mom for keeping our ship afloat. I’d like to honor all who are, have been, or will be called “Mom” today.

With all that Mom does and all the potential that is there, I think that it is no coincidence that in the English language “mom” upside down is “wow!”

“Her children arise up, and call her blessed.” (Proverbs 31:28a)

