“Finishing Well”

(originally printed in 12/27/2015 bulletin FBC Mulberry Grove)

The wrapping paper is removed and disposed of. The tree looks a little sadder for the lack of bounty beneath its branches. And the Christmas feast has run its course. Some would say that, now that Christmas is done, the year is all but over.

What would it mean if we take a look at the last few days of 2015 and determine to make even a handful of hours mean more? It might mean that one more soul meets Jesus before the end of the year. It might mean that I (or one of my friends or family) am able to walk more closely with the Lord because I haven’t placed the rest of the year on hold. It might mean that I can choose to have a new beginning even in the midst of all of the closings down.

Who says that the last moments of one thing should be any less spectacular than the first? Not our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. According to His opinion, all of our moments count. So when we consider the countdown minutes of 2015 (just past) think: “Did I finish the year well?”

 I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.  –Paul (2 Timothy 4:7)

