Before I let another “Blog Action Day” slip by, I thought I would post my thoughts on what brings dignity to the world.

Hubert Humphrey is credited with the following: “The moral test of a government is how it treats those who are at the dawn of life, the children; those who are in the twilight of life, the aged; and those who are in the shadow of life, the sick and the needy, and the handicapped.”

In a deep sense, Humphrey had it right. It is important for those who have the ability to take a stand to do so, and in doing so, to stand for those who are unable. My focus will be on the first group in Mr. Humphrey’s quotation–the children. I would not want to neglect the other groups, but time and space (and your ability to read my carryings-on require a bit of focus).

i have no statistics to quote to get your dander up. Nor will I post a platterful of heart-wrenching pictures to build your melancholy. What i offer today is a passionate plea to protect the children, to honor the children, to treat our children with dignity (wherever we may find them).

Children are our most precious gift, and should be treated with care and love. Might I suggest some efforts that would help us to stand up for the dignity of these little ones?

  • Touch the heart of a child by joining an anonymous gifting effort such as Shoes for Orphan Souls, Angel Tree, or Operation Christmas Child.
  • Find a shelter that cares for embattled families, and ask administrators how you can help ease the plight of the children there.
  • Report bullying, cyberbullying, and other forms of child endangerment when you see it.
  • Volunteer as a big brother/sister if these programs are available to you.
  • Apply and endure the process of vetting in order to become a foster or adoptive parent so that children who have been marked as unwanted will understand that they have value.
  • Consider a program like Safe Families for Children to keep children from falling into harms way.

We must let children know that they are valuable. We must be aware that telling a child that they were an accident or a mistake undermines the desire of their Maker to let them know that they are important.

As I often do, let me drop in a Scripture illustrating the value of children, and a lyric from my faith background that might be taught to children on the cusp of human despair:

15 Some people were even bringing infants to Him so He might touch them, but when the disciples saw it, they rebuked them. 16 Jesus, however, invited them: “Let the little children come to Me, and don’t stop them, because the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. 17 I assure you: Whoever does not welcome the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” from Luke 18

(and the lyric)

“I am somebody because God loves me,
and I’m accepted just the way that I am
His love is higher deeper & wider
You and I will never understand”

