“On the first day of Christmas, my True Love gave to me . . . A Partridge in a pear tree”

The greatest gift of all Christendom is Christ Himself. In fact, as a Christian I might argue that Christ is the greatest gift of all. The gift, though is not the Baby Jesus in a manger. Yes, we must have the Babe in a barn stall, wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger for His bed. Without this humble beginning we would not have opportunity to see and know the Christ who walked Middle Eastern lands in and around Jerusalem, beginning in Nazareth and Capernaum and stirring up trouble among the Pharisees, Sadducees, and other religious leaders.

How was this greatest of all (first of all) gifts delivered? On a tree. You see it is not the Babe in a Manger, but the Lamb on the Cross who is our Savior. He started in the humility of the manger-bed, but lived to die for all my sin.

A partridge (the Christ) in a pear tree (on a cross, paying the price for my sins).

