There’s an old saying, “Even a blind hog finds an acorn now and then.” I’m not fully sure of the origin, but it speaks to something that I’ve been considering for a few days: Reading. I won’t say that I read a lot, but I do read (a lot).

 

I didn’t always read so much. In fact, when I was learning to read and my baby little younger brother would sit beside me reading over my shoulder I found that my inadequacy in the skill of reading was decidedly pronounced. He’d sit there saying, “Turn the page! Turn the page!” while I was still struggling with the left-hand page (those of you who are slow like me will get that in a couple of days). At any rate, not absolutely loving the art of reading, it was not until I was well into my college/seminary/college-again education that I actually discovered reading.

 

Since that time, I have tried to interact with my reading whenever possible. I do this especially in the form of reading reviews (many of which you can find if you click here). In doing this I can do a couple of things: I’m forced to read a little better; and by reviewing the book, I can recommend a good read or help somebody pass on a real stinker.

 

Having said that, I don’t think that it is necessary to pass on every book with which I don’t agree. Just because I don’t like everything (or anything) in a book doesn’t mean that I can’t learn from it. Sometimes (especially in dealing with books I read for my work as a pastor) it is good for me to read something that I don’t agree with just to keep myself familiar with what’s out there, even if I disagree. Should I disregard reading author’s who hold a different opinion, theology, or philosophy than I do? Certainly not! I may learn something. I may grow. And anyway, even a blind hog finds an acorn now and then.

