Somewhere in the long line of Christian bookstores and greeting card shops, someone looked for another way to sell knick-knacks and gew-gaws and cards with syrupy sayings. And so were invented special days like Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, and Grandparents’ Day. These are all good, and we ought to honor those on their respective days as a token of how we honor them throughout the year.

In the search for another way to sell a card, the researchers said, “Americans ought to love their pastors, and show it.” And so was born Pastor Appreciation Month (celebrated in our part of Christendom in the month of October).

The actual development of this time set aside for church-goers to tangibly display their appreciation and love for their pastors is unknown to me, and to move away from the more cynical tone which casts aspersions on the motives of those who give gifts to their pastors during this time, I would like you, my readers, to know that I have been the recipient of an outpouring of gratitude this very day.

On a table in the foyer of our church, members piled cans and bottles of that elixer of life, Dr Pepper, mixed with sweets of all sorts and cards and cash to let me know they care. I wish to make it also known that the members of the church where I am blessed to be the undershepherd are not in the habit of waiting for special occasions to express their appreciation. Periodically during the course of the year (holidays and non-special times alike) I find cards, or gifts directed my way. Sometimes from a known source and many times anonymously. And so I humbly utter, “Thank you” to them all for their support and their special efforts that bless both me and my family week in and week out.

If you are a member of our congregation, “Thanks.”

If you attend another local church, there’s still time in the month to shower your shepherd with love.

Blessings on you all.

