I’ve always had a propensity for showing how human I am. Once I recall filling in for the music leader when I was in high school. Like most Baptist churches of the day, we enjoyed a time of “fellowship” where church-goers could shake hands and greet one another during a lively song. At the close of the song I asked if anyone did not get their hand shaken, and one young lady raised her hand. I proceeded to call her by her maiden name (she’d been married to another friend for nearly two years). I don’t know who was more embarrassed, my friend or me.

So what’s the point of dredging that faux pas up? It has to do with something I witnessed while attending the Southern Baptist Convention’s Annual Meeting this past week in Indianapolis. (Don’t worry–no analysis or personal opinions about the meeting and how it went, there’s plenty of that to be found in the blogosphere.) What happened on Tuesday evening was priceless for me. I was reminded that even the most poised of us has moments of humanity. The SBC President Frank Page, at the end of a long day (likely longer for him because of moderating duties than anyone else at the meeting), turned to Lavon Gray (worship leader for the evening) and requested that he lead us in “Congressional” singing–not once but two, count ’em, two times. Later he laughed at his own mistake, distinctly pronouncing the word “congregational” for all to hear.

Even on our best days, the best of us have slip ups. The entertainment community is filled with blooper reels to drag out when the famous get tongue-tied. I want you, dear readers, to understand that I have a great amount of respect for Frank Page, especially considering the spirit with which the SBC meeting went over the past two years. So I’m not trying to make him look bad. What I want to say, though, is that it’s nice to remember a couple of truths at the end of the day:

  1. There is a God.
  2. I’m not Him.

It’s also nice to know that I’m not the  only one who shows my humanity in a public manner. I must admit that I probably do it much more often than men like Frank Page.

Blessings on you all as your humanity expresses itself. And thank God that He takes up the slack when it happens.

