(Excuse me for a moment while I pause in my Christmas revelings for an aside.)

In my blogsurfing lately I’ve been reminded of the reading that has made me consider whether I’m really all that good a witness or not. The current trend is for Christ-followers to assess their abrasiveness by finding out what nonBelievers think. I think part of it has to do with our propensity to judge even though we’ve been told not to do so. It is so much easier to point out the shortcomings of others than it is to deal with our own faults and failings.

 So here, let me prod you into correcting your own errant life. Be kind, be conscious of the other guy, be real. Please take no note of the fact that the forty-foot stick that I’m prodding you with is protruding out of my own eye. (Thanks to on-line friend Monk-in-Training for the imagery here.)

