1“Do not judge, or you too will be judged. 2For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.” –Matthew 7:1-2

 

            In my constant struggle to be more like Christ and less like a Pharisee (read that, less like myself), I find that I have a long way to go. This morning, for instance, provided a prime example. As I walked down the street to take care of some errands (you can still walk to your errands in a town like Mulberry Grove) I saw a man standing, talking to another man in a car. Nothing untoward dawned on me until I walked by the scene and discovered that the man standing was a black man and the one in the car was white. Instantly my mind was struck with the thought drug deal.

            Now, it is not necessarily uncommon that someone might be conducting illegal activity such as a drug deal on one of our fair village’s streets, but what hit me moments later was that—although I knew neither of the men involved, I immediately judged them in a less than flattering manner. For all I know, they were just buddies having a chat because they saw each other downtown. Why, because one was a black man, should my mind immediately scream “bad news, bad news”?

            I also must admit that I’ve become a skeptic in the realm of the work of the church (and again proven to be too hasty to think little of my fellow believers). In the last two months, members of my local congregation have been coming out of the woodwork to volunteer to be a part of new or on-going ministries that are part of the life of our church. Here and I thought no one was paying attention to the sermons I was preaching. What it goes to show is that:

  1. God is still able to use that which I think has been a flub.
  2. People are not always as dense as I give them credit for.
  3. I’m still not as far along as I’d like to believe I am.

What about you? Are you more like Jesus today than yesterday? Or are your thoughts turning to judgmental tones unbidden?

