Since I’m promoting my review site, I might as well share the latest review with you. There I discuss Ken Hemphill’s EKG, ostensibly a challenge for Christians to become Kingdom citizens to the nth degree. On a practical level, the book is an excellent treatment of the Sermon on the Mount.

The question that arises from the reading is this: Whose kingdom is it anyway? In what kingdom do we spend our time living and working. Hemphill argues that to be true Kingdom citizens, we live life the way Christ encouraged, demanded, and exemplified.

Today I read a review of the book, I’m OK – You’re Not by John Shore. This is the second review I’ve read for this book. While I have not read the book yet (it’s on my intended list), it concerns me that Shore may be encouraging people to stop evangelizing. I’m sure that isn’t his intention at all. The radical thing that he says though is that we should de-emphasize the Great Commission (which reads to evangelicals as “evangelization”) in favor of emphasizing the Great Commandment (to love each other).

I would argue that it’s not an either/or, but a both/and proposition. We must evangelize, and we must love. The two are not mutually exclusive. If we are trying to build our own kingdom, we will either use battering-ram styled witnessing techniques (which Baptists have developed whole programs around), or we will soft-serve love without ever mentioning why we love. If we are to become effective citizens of the Kingdom of God, then we must evangelize with love, and love evangelistically.

Well, that’s my opinion, anyway. What’s yours?

 

